Login
TwitterFacebook

 SOPA Planning Group 

See the list below of the current Planning Group (updated Feb 2018). Click on the name of the organisation to go to the website (opening in a new window).

The SOPA Planning Group comprise, in the main, volunteers from Scottish organisations and associations. They have been selected by them to serve as representatives. They give their time generously, and carry forward the work of the annual Assembly. SOPA has good access to government and can raise issues directly with Ministers, in cross-party groups in Parliament and with the Convention of Scottish Local Authorities.

Tom Berney has been Chair of the Planning Group since June 2013. His professional background in the civil service and as a national trade union representative has equipped him with the skills and experience to play an effective role in meeting and negotiating with government ministers and other officials. However, SOPA's strength does not rest in one person.

"I believe the power of SOPA lies in its Planning Group. It includes a wide spectrum of organisations representing the varied interests and concerns within the older population. We work to find common ground to bring to bear the voices and experiences of older people at grass roots. We are therefore in a strong position to challenge or support legislation by the Scottish and Westminster Governments."


Glenda M Watt, Contact for Scottish Older People’s Assembly

Tel:0131 555 9112     m: 077 2991 3474  Email: glenda@scotopa.org.uk 

The Scottish Older People's Assembly is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation: Number - SC046520


 

Action on Elder Abuse: Brian Rapley. brianrapley@elderabuse.org.uk

Age Scotland: Diana Findley. diana.findley@btinternet.com

Alzheimer Scotland: Archie Noone (Scottish Dementia Working Group): archienoone@hotmail.com

City for All Ages Advisory Group:  Betty Milton. lesliemilton@btinternet.com 

Dumfries & Galloway Seniors Forum: John White. john.white306@virgin.net

Edinburgh Association of Community Councils: Allister McKillop.  allistermckillop@gmail.com

Generations Working Together: Alison Clyde. alison@generationsworkingtogether.org

GMB Union (Retired Members):  Jimmy Miller:jmscotsgreys@yahoo.co.uk

Grey Matters, Argyll and Bute: Rob Snodgrass.  rless@live.co.uk

Highland Senior Citizens Network: Jo Cowan.  jo-hscn@outlook.com

Human Development Scotland: Christine Wilson. cjw1537@aol.com

Interfaith Association: Bashir A Malik. bashirmalik1@yahoo.co.uk

Learning in Later Life Students' Association, University of Strathclyde: John Parkhill.  johnparkhill@hotmail.com

LGBT Age: John Thomson.  j.thomson39@btinternet.com

Make It Happen Forum Falkirk:  Sandra McGregor. sandramcgregor31@gmail.com

National Federation of Occupational Pensioners: Alan Spinks. alan.spinks@nfop.org.uk

National Pensioners Convention: Alan Sidaway. alansidaway91@yahoo.co.uk

Older People's Reference Group Stirling: Eileen Wallace.  eileenwallace2001@hotmail.co.uk

Pilmeny Development Project, Edinburgh. Anne Munro. annemunro@btconnect.com

Renfrewshire Seniors Forum: William McDonald. mcdonaldw77@yahoo.co.uk

Retired Police Officers Association Scotland – Matt Hamilton.  Matthamilton60@hotmail.com

Scottish Borders Seniors Networking Forum (SBSNF) - Diana Findley. diana.findley@btinternet.com

Scottish Council on Deafness: Ian Galloway. lanarkshdeafclub@btconnect.com

Seniors Together South Lanarkshire  Donald Bulloch. donald.b57973@sky.com

South Kintyre Seniors' Forum: Rob Snodgrass. rless@live.co.uk

Trust Housing Association (Equality Scotland): Rohini Sharma Joshi. rsharma@trustha.org.uk

U3A in Scotland: Tom Berney. t.berney@blueyonder.co.uk (CHAIR)

West Lothian Senior People's Forum: Mary Benson. gmgd@blueyonder.co.uk

Click here to open the SOPA Constitution. This document was agreed by OCSR in April 2016. SOPA is a registered charity (SCO46520).

SOPA website (+Facebook and Newsletter) - Val Bissland: valbissland@gmail.com. Contact directly to report any broken links or difficulties.