Login
TwitterFacebook

 SOPA Planning Group 

See the list below of the current Planning Group (updated July 2018). Click on the name of the organisation to go to the website (opening in a new window).

The SOPA Planning Group comprise, in the main, volunteers from Scottish organisations and associations. They have been selected by them to serve as representatives. They give their time generously, and carry forward the work of the annual Assembly. SOPA has good access to government and can raise issues directly with Ministers, in cross-party groups in Parliament and with the Convention of Scottish Local Authorities.

Diana Findley was elected as Chairperson at SOPA’s AGM on 26 July 2018.  Alan Sidaway is the Vice Chair and Donald Bulloch is Treasurer.

Born and educated in Angus Diana attended Business College after school  During her working life she was a Personal Assistant at director level in three different international companies in England.  She also worked in hotel management, and latterly worked with her husband in their own business. On retirement, Diana became involved with Better Government for Older People and was the Chairperson of its Scottish section, the Scottish Older People's Advisory Group. She has served on Age Scotland Board and is currently their Regional Ambassador for the Borders as well as a Trustee of SOPA.  Locally, she is chairperson of Borders Older People's Forum, is on the Borders Board of the Social Enterprise Chamber and attends various other groups relating to older people and their concerns.

"I believe it is most important to strengthen the voices of our older people and make these known and understood by those who have the power to make changes and improve lives."  


Glenda M Watt, Contact for Scottish Older People’s Assembly

Tel:0131 555 9112     m: 077 2991 3474  Email: glenda@scotopa.org.uk 

The Scottish Older People's Assembly is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation: Number - SC046520


 

Action on Elder Abuse: Brian Rapley. brianrapley@elderabuse.org.uk

Age Scotland: Diana Findley. diana.findley@btinternet.com

Alzheimer Scotland: Archie Noone (Scottish Dementia Working Group): archienoone@hotmail.com

Borders Older People's Forum: Diana Findley. diana.findley@btinternet.com (SOPA Chair)

City for All Ages Advisory Group:  Betty Milton. lesliemilton@btinternet.com 

Dumfries & Galloway Seniors Forum: John White. john.white306@virgin.net

Edinburgh Association of Community Councils: Allister McKillop.  allistermckillop@gmail.com

Generations Working Together: Alison Clyde. alison@generationsworkingtogether.org

GMB Union (Retired Members):  Jimmy Miller:jmscotsgreys@yahoo.co.uk

Highland Senior Citizens Network: Jo Cowan.  jo-hscn@outlook.com

Human Development Scotland: Christine Wilson. cjw1537@aol.com

Interfaith Association: Bashir A Malik. bashirmalik1@yahoo.co.uk

Learning in Later Life Students' Association, University of Strathclyde: (Awaiting new member)

LGBT Age: John Thomson.  j.thomson39@btinternet.com

National Federation of Occupational Pensioners: Alan Spinks. alan.spinks@nfop.org.uk

Pilmeny Development Project, Edinburgh. Anne Munro. annemunro@btconnect.com

Renfrewshire Seniors Forum: William McDonald. mcdonaldw77@yahoo.co.uk

Retired Members Association, Lanark: Sam Gibson Samgib46@yahoo.co.uk

Retired Police Officers Association Scotland Matt Hamilton.  Matthamilton60@hotmail.com

Scottish Council on Deafness: (Awaiting new member)

Seniors Together South Lanarkshire  Donald Bulloch. donald.b57973@sky.com

Stirling Public Partnership Forum: Eileen Wallace.  eileenwallace2001@hotmail.co.uk

Trust Housing Association (Equality Scotland): Rohini Sharma Joshi. rsharma@trustha.org.uk

U3A in Scotland: Tom Berney. t.berney@blueyonder.co.uk 

Unite Retired Members Association, Dumfries: Alan Sidaway. alansidaway91@yahoo.co.uk (SOPA Vice Chair)

West Lothian Senior People's Forum: Mary Benson. gmgd@blueyonder.co.uk

New SOPA Trustees: Sam Gibson, Unite Retired Members Association, Lanark: Christine Wilson, Human Development Scotland and Alan Spinks NFOP

Re-elected SOPA Trustees: Tom Berney, Betty Milton, Bill McDonald, John White and Eileen Wallace.

Click here to open the SOPA Constitution. This document was agreed by OCSR in April 2016. SOPA is a registered charity (SCO46520).

site map | cookie policy | privacy policy