Login
TwitterFacebook

 SOPA Committee 

See list below of current Committee members. Click on the name of the organisation to go to the website (opens in a new window).

The SOPA Committee are mainly volunteers from Scottish organisations and associations. They have been selected by them to serve as SOPA representatives. They give generously of their time, and carry forward the work of the annual Assembly. SOPA has good access to government and can raise issues directly with Ministers, in cross party groups in Parliament and with the Convention of Scottish Local Authorities.

Tom Berney has been Chair of the Committee since June 2013. His professional background in the civil service and as a national trade union representative has equipped him with the skills and experience to play an effective role in meeting and negotiating with government ministers and other officials. However SOPA's strength does not rest in one person.

"I believe the power of SOPA lies in our Committee. It includes a wide spectrum of organisations representing the varied interests and concerns within the older population. We work to find common ground to bring to bear the voices and experiences of older people at grass roots. We are therefore in a strong position to challenge or support legislation by the Scottish and Westminster Governments."


Glenda M Watt, Contact for Scottish Older People’s Assembly

Tel:  077 2991 3474:   Email: glenda@scotopa.org.uk 

The Scottish Older People's Assembly is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation: Number - SC046520


Age Scotland: Diana Findley. diana.findley@btinternet.com

Alzheimer Scotland: Archie Noone (Scottish Dementia Working Group): archienoone@hotmail.com

City for All Ages Advisory Group:  Betty Milton. lesliemilton@btinternet.com 

Dumfries & Galloway Seniors Forum: John White. john.white306@virgin.net

Generations Working Together: Alison Clyde. alison@generationsworkingtogether.org

GMB Union (Retired Members):  Jimmy Miller:jmscotsgreys@yahoo.co.uk

Grey Matters, Argyll and Bute: Rob Snodgrass.  rless@live.co.uk

Highland Senior Citizens Network: Donald Macleod.  donaldmacleod2409@gmx.com 

Human Development Scotland: Christine Wilson. cjw1537@aol.com

Interfaith Association: Bashir A Malik. bashirmalik1@yahoo.co.uk

Learning in Later Life Students' Association, University of Strathclyde: John Parkhill.  johnparkhill@hotmail.com

LGBT Age: Nicky Stones and Katherine Burrows.  Nicholas.I.stones@gmail.comkate4851@hotmail.com

Make It Happen Forum Falkirk:  Sandra McGregor. sandramcgregor31@gmail.com

National Federation of Occupational Pensioners: Alan Spinks. alan.spinks@nfop.org.uk

National Pensioners Convention: Alan Sidaway. alansidaway91@yahoo.co.uk

Older People's Reference Group Stirling: Eileen Wallace.  eileenwallace2001@hotmail.co.uk

Renfrewshire Seniors Forum: William McDonald. mcdonaldw77@yahoo.co.uk

Retired Police Officers Association Scotland – Matt Hamilton.  Matthamilton60@hotmail.com

Scottish Borders Seniors Networking Forum (SBSNF) - Diana Findley. diana.findley@btinternet.com

Scottish Council on Deafness: Ian Galloway. lanarkshdeafclub@btconnect.com

Seniors Together South Lanarkshire  Donald Bulloch. donald.b57973@sky.com

South Kintyre Seniors' Forum: Rob Snodgrass. rless@live.co.uk

Trust Housing Association (Equality Scotland): Rohini Sharma Joshi. rsharma@trustha.org.uk

U3A in Scotland: Tom Berney. t.berney@blueyonder.co.uk (CHAIR)

West Lothian Senior People's Forum: Mary Benson. gmgd@blueyonder.co.uk

Click here to open the SOPA Constitution. This document was agreed by OCSR in April 2016. SOPA is now a registered charity.

SOPA website (+Facebook, Twitter and Newsletter) - Val Bissland: valbissland@gmail.com. Contact direct to report any broken links or difficulties.